UTLA Members to Elect Officers and Members of the Board of Directors in 2023


Self-nomination period begins on August 15, 2022.

In early 2023 UTLA members will be electing the UTLA citywide officers and members of the UTLA Board of Directors, which includes directors who serve a UTLA Area and directors who represent a special category of members. The complete list of offices is below. Together, the officers and board work with UTLA staff to carry out the mandates of the UTLA House of Representatives and help oversee the operation of the union. Elected members will serve a three-year term, from July 2023 to June 2026. Candidates who declare earlier, following the August 15th start date, will have earlier access to the chapter chair list and that will assist in campaigning.

To ensure a ballot reaches you when voting begins in 2023 make sure that UTLA has your current contact information, especially your email address. If you’ve moved, or have a new non-LAUSD email address, update your information at utla.net/members/update-your-information.

Voting will be done online; no paper ballots will be mailed. Your PIN will be emailed to you by the Election Services Company. UTLA will never have access to a member’s PIN. If you don’t receive an email, you will be able to access your ballot through Find My PIN which will be available on the Election Services Company’s website once electronic ballots become available. There will be a link to the Election Services Company on this site.

Please keep checking back to this website throughout the election. Candidates will be posting flyers, statements, and photos and will also be allowed to link to their social media sites such as Facebook, Instagram, and others on their section of the website.

Citywide officers

  • President
  • NEA Vice President
  • AFT Vice President
  • Elementary Vice President
  • Secondary Vice President
  • Treasurer
  • Secretary

Area Board of Directors and Area Chair

Each area elects 3 NEA directors and 1 AFT director. One of the elected directors from each area is elected as the Area Chair.

  • North Area
  • South Area
  • East Area
  • West Area
  • Central Area
  • Valley East Area
  • Valley West Area
  • Harbor Area

Board of Directors: Special category

  • Adult and Occupational Education
  • Bilingual Education
  • Early Education Centers
  • Health and Human Services
  • Special Education
  • Substitutes